1919 - 1921: Rumiano Brothers move from San Francisco to Willows, CA., where they open their first dairy and begin making cheese.
1921 - 1930: Rumiano Cheese Company digs aging cellars at the Willows facility, designed for storage and aging. These cellars are still used today.
1935 - 1945: Rumiano Cheese Company is awarded a large government contract to produce cheese for the US Army in the war effort and purchases several creameries throughout California and Southern Oregon.
1945 - 1950: The end of war, developments in technology, and new dairy industry regulation lead to consolidation of facilities to two: Crescent City and Willows, CA.
1950 - 1980: Richard Rumiano's sons Raymond and George take over management of the business, with the assumption that it would soon be sold.
1980 - 1990: Raymond Rumiano's sons, John and Baird, purchase the business from the rest of the Rumiano family, struggling to make it successful. Expansion and modernization were the core focus.
1990 - 2000: Sales grew at a healthy rate, once again, and the new owners continued to reinvest into the business.
2000 - 2019: Rumiano Cheese Company continues to grow with its packaging operations, retail brands, new products, and the heritage of service, quality, and value.

What does it mean to be NON-GMO?

Rumiano’s selection of organic cheeses and butter is certified Non-GMO by the Non-GMO Project (nongmoproject.org). GMOs are “genetically modified organisms.” We share the belief that everyone deserves an informed choice about whether or not to consume genetically modified organisms.

Does Rumiano Cheese make gluten-free cheese?

We do not use any gluten-based products in either of our plants so it is safe to say that all of our cheese is “gluten-free”.  We do purchase shredded cheese from another company and it may contain potato starch, powdered cellulose, or corn starch. However, we suggest you consult with your doctor before consuming cheese as you may have another allergy affecting you.

Celebrating 100 Years

Is there lactose in Rumiano cheese?

A good rule of thumb with cheese is the harder and more aged the cheese, the less lactose present. Once the enzymes are added during the cheesemaking process, it immediately begins eating the lactose in the milk creating lactic acid, which is sifted out when it becomes whey. Many of our varieties of cheese are free of lactose, however; some types like ricotta, brie, fresh mozzarella, and even American do contain lactose. We do suggest you consult a doctor or nutritionist regarding levels of lactose intolerance or dairy allergies before consuming any of the stated cheese.

Celebrating 100 Years

Contact Us

866-EAT-CHEESE

(866-328-2433)